About Us

Indian Institutes of Technology (IITs) are institutions of national importance established through Acts of Parliament for fostering excellence in education. Over the years, IITs have created a world class educational platform that is dynamically sustained through quality teaching and internationally acclaimed research with excellent infrastructure and the best available minds. The faculty and alumni of IITs occupy key positions in academia and industry, both in India and abroad, and continue to make a considerable impact in all sections of the Society. At present, there are twenty three IITs located across the country. The candidates to write the JEE Advanced examination are those who have cleared JEE Main examination and are in top 2.2 Lakh ranked candidates. Other eligibility are defined in Information Brochure of JEE Advanced 2017.

The primary objectives of IITs are as follows:

• To create an environment that encourages freedom of thought and pursuit of excellence, and inculcates the necessary vision and self-discipline to achieve excellence.
• To build a solid foundation of scientific and technical knowledge and to prepare competent and motivated engineers and scientists.
• To kindle an entrepreneurial spirit among the students.
• To prepare the students to become outstanding professionals and contribute to nation-building.


The Joint Entrance Examination (Advanced) 2017 [JEE (Advanced) 2017] will be conducted by the seven zonal IITs under the guidance of the Joint Admission Board (JAB) 2017. The performance of a candidate in this examination will form the basis for admission to the Bachelor’s, Integrated Master’s and Dual Degree programs (entry at the 10+2 level) in all the IITs. The decisions of the JAB 2017 will be final in all matters related to JEE (Advanced) 2017 and admission to IITs.

Schedule of JEE (Advanced) 2017

The examination consists of two papers, Paper 1 and Paper 2, each of three hours duration and will be held as per the following schedule:

Day, date          Sunday, 21 May 2017

Time                  Paper 1 09:00 to 12:00 IST

                            Paper 2 14:00 to 17:00 IST

Both the papers are compulsory.